`

I have been watching these last 3 years as an Honorably discharge Navy veteran.  Though most of what is going on was indeed happening before then, I never had the opportunity to really look at the issues, and the way they are dividing the country.  The economy is stable enough, but just barely for Congress to make last-minute deals to keep the Country open  It’s outrageous, in this day and age, that a government would use such a powerful threat, one you might have seen in another totalitarian or dictator’s country.  I grew up in a small town called Durand in Michigan.  It was a pretty place to grow up.  I remember riding my bike everywhere.  Always to the dilapidated aging Train Depot Station in town.  Everybody was friendly, we’d have block parties, or garage sales.  My grandmother lived down the street from me.  We would just get together everybody, even my late Great-Grandmother.  Often the choice would be Zhender’s in Frankenmuth.  In the winter, you could stop by Bronner’s christmas wonderland and be amazed at it all.  We would take vacations to our Cabin in Oscoda, another city in Michigan, farther North and closer to the Mackinaw Island bridge.

Which brings me to Mackinaw Island. It was such unique experience for me.  Exposed to the different group and way of living, it opened my eyes to possibilities.  And this brings to something that I feel like I’ve known for a while, but just didn’t say anything.  We are losing our sense of family and values.  The importance of being proud you’re an American!  It’s time we stand up and start recognizing the very real issues at stake here: According the latest information from Investors, Obama care is getting more expensive every minute. (Source article at bottom FYI) Then there’s gun control. I usually look at this issue as part of the larger picture and undercurrent of hopelessness in the country. During the recession, this country went through another big change in its history. People and big businesses started to lose money. The solution we found (after Government shutdowns, again) was for the government to give us money to live. It cheered some people up, got some businesses back to work, and the machine started to get back on course. The problem now, we have more people than we have jobs. Partly because companies can’t or won’t hire them, usually out of money issues or even over qualification. Some also are wary to give a job to someone who has a large gap, likely in their employment for instance, a veteran.

Combining all the factors playing into this, it’s  easy to see why someone could get angry enough to resort to violence with a gun.  I think the best way to “control” guns, would be to help change the things in people’s lives that drive them to them. Which brings me to my final thought.  I grew in a large, conservative, christian home with a large family that would sit down and eat dinner at the table (picture blue bloods minus the alcohol and better food 😉 but I have always had a strong family that loves, supports and encourages me.  I think that this is what we are missing in the nation right now.  Our ancestors, and I’m talking Neanderthals here, hunted and forged and were always working to have their families.  Even then family structure was essential to survival.  We too, are social creatures, But if we can’t rise up and say enough is enough, nothing is going to change.  Recently we’ve seen several candidates for president tell us how they would deal with these issue.  Even though we’re somewhat resigned to our fate, and just tell ourselves “as long I have my phone, my computer, and a nice place to lay my head, I’m good”  NO!  American pride and the will to work to do what’s necessary to get yourself ahead in life should be forefront! American drive and perseverance on the part of everyone, not just government. American pride. Regardless of color, gender, religion, of any differences we have. Te motto should be the sky’s the limit!  We need that.  Lately we’ve all been a little more than casual observers while our President seems set on gutting the nation in an new image. Anyway, I think the biggest thing we can do to remind ourselves we are a free people, is to get back to the basics.  As the founding fathers said “Life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

Remember, you may just be a voice in the crowd, but it only takes a whisper to change the world.

Thank you for reading, and let me know you think!

http://news.investors.com/politics/051815-753015-obamacare-insurers-propose-big-2016-premium-hikes.htm

Leave a Reply

